Saturday, 27 August 2016

Maktab Rendah Sains Mara (MRSM)

Maktab Rendah Sains Mara (MRSM) or MARA Junior Science College | Form 1 and Form 4

The MARA Junior Science College (Malay: Maktab Rendah Sains Mara (MRSM)) is a group of boarding schools created by the People's Trust Council (Malay: Majlis Amanah Rakyat, commonly abbreviated as MARA), a Malaysian government agency. The institution provides learning facilities for bright students in local schools throughout Malaysia.

The first MRSM was established in Seremban in February 1972 with its first intake of 150 pioneering (male only) students from all over Malaysia. MRSM Seremban took in its last batch of students in 1986 and gradually converted into Kolej Mara Seremban officially in February 1994.

Academic system
Students are primarily assessed through a system similar to the grading systems in universities and/or colleges: the grade point average (GPA) (Malay: Purata Nilaian Gred (PNG) system. By the end of their final semesters they will be awarded a certificate of graduation for those who succeeded to pass with at least a cumulative grade point average (CGPA) (Malay: Timbunan Purata Nilaian Gred (TPNG)) of 2.00 and above.
MJSCs use the usual academic ladders in Malaysia when it comes to the level progression system, where students advance through year 7 (known as Form 1 in Malaysia) to Year 11 (Form 5) by age. In Malaysia, there is no system that allows for level transition according to the student's capability. Most MJSC runs all levels from Form 1 to Form 5, but there are 3 MJSCs that only run Forms 4 and 5. In 2015, there are no more MJSCs that only run Forms 1 to 3. All of these previous lower form only MJSCs have been enrolling upper form with MJSC Pasir Tumboh and MJSC Gerik both had their form 4 intakes in 2015(SPM 2016).
Students who started from Form 1 can continue their studies in MJSC until Form 5 in the same college or by transferring to another college. These students can only continue their studies in MJSC if they pass their Penilaian Menengah Rendah with at least 6As, with As in Mathematics and Science. Failure to achieve this will cause their studies in the MJSC system to be discontinued, and they will have to continue their studies in an ordinary school.

MRSM PROGRAM DWI-SIJIL (Dual Certificate Programme or Malay: Program Dwi-Sijil)
Dual Certificate Programme is a part of internationalisation of the Education System.It is believed that educational excellence can be achieve in a shorter time by adopting best practices from leading and prestigious schools in the world.By providing basic skills in communication skills,thinking skills and learning skills,students will be more willing to adapt to the teaching styles. Subsequently, learning activities will be truly student-centered,thus ensuring effective teaching and learning. This internationalisation programme enables MJSCs that offer this programme to take four examinations:SPM,IGCSE,PT3 and Cambridge Checkpoint. The pioneering MJSC of this programme is MRSM Tun Abdul Razak Pekan Pahang.

MRSM PKP (Special Education Programme or Malay: Program Khas Pendidikan)
PKP is a title that is given to MARA Junior Science Colleges who have attained a high level of quality in their students through national exams and participation in events – with the former being the primary factor. These colleges are often deemed the most superior in their category of schools in Malaysia, though others could still compete with them. Most of the students who are admitted into MRSM PKP are usually those who obtain 8As or more in the Malay: Pentaksiran Tingkatan 3 (PT3) and UPSR examination and pass the UKKM with flying colours. The quality of the students in MRSM PKP are usually higher. As such, these MJSCs usually become the role models for the other MJSCs to promote healthy competition between its students.
There are six of them:
  • MJSC Pengkalan Chepa, Kelantan (upper form only)
  • MJSC Tun Ghafar Baba, Melaka (upper form only)
  • MJSC Taiping, Perak (upper form only)
  • MJSC Tun Dr Ismail, Pontian, Johor (upper and lower form)
  • MJSC Langkawi, Kedah (upper and lower form)(PKP IGCSE)
  • MJSC Kuantan, Pahang (upper and lower form)(PKP IGCSE)
The first MRSM PKP is MRSM Kulim Kedah. First batch is 1988 batch. Second batch is 1990 batch. and after that MRSM Kulim stopped taking pkp students. and the program has moved to the six above MRSM.
List of MJSC in Malaysia
  • MJSC Pontian(Tun Dr. Ismail)
  • MJSC Johor Bahru
  • MJSC Batu Pahat
  • MJSC Mersing
  • MJSC Muar
  • MJSC Sekijang (under construction)
  • MJSC Kubang Pasu
  • MJSC Langkawi
  • MJSC Merbok
  • MJSC PDRM Kulim
  • MJSC Pendang
  • MJSC Baling
  • MJSC Sik (as planned in RMK-11)
  • MJSC Jeli
  • MJSC Kuala Krai
  • MJSC Pasir Tumboh
  • MJSC Pengkalan Chepa
  • MJSC Tumpat
  • MJSC Tanah Merah (as planned in RMK-11)
Negeri Sembilan
  • MJSC Tun Ghazali Shafie, Kuala Lipis
  • MJSC Muadzam Shah
  • MJSC Bentong
  • MJSC Tun Abdul Razak, Pekan
  • MJSC Kuantan
  • MJSC Beseri
  • MJSC Arau
Pulau Pinang
  • MJSC Balik Pulau
  • MJSC Transkrian, Nibong Tebal
  • MJSC Kepala Batas
  • MJSC Kota Kinabalu
  • MJSC Tun Mustapha Tawau
  • MJSC Tun Mohammad Fuad Stephens Sandakan
  • MJSC Semporna (under construction)
  • MJSC Kuala Kubu Baru
  • MJSC Sungai Besar
  • MJSC Kuala Terengganu
  • MJSC Kota Putra
  • MJSC Kuala Berang
  • MJSC Besut
Notable alumni
  • Datuk Dr. Mohd. Yusoff Sulaiman – CEO of MIGHT
  • Nik Hasyudden Nik Yusof – President of Malaysian Institute of Accountants
  • Abdul Hamid Sheikh Mohamed – CEO of Symphony House Berhad
  • Prof. Dr. Abdul Rahman Mohamad
  • Prof. Dr. Mud Kamil Ibrahim
  • Dato' Dr Zakaria Zahari – Pediatrician at HKL
  • Dato' Dr Mohd. Nasir Muda – Cardiologist at IJN
MRSM Seremban
  • Dato' Seri Abdul Wahid Omar – Minister in the Prime Minister's Department in charge of Financial Affairs, former chief executive officer for Malayan Banking Berhad (Maybank)
  • Datuk Noor Ehsanuddin Mohd Harun Narrashid – Member of Parliament for Kota Tinggi
  • Dato' Ir. Hj. Amiruddin Bin Hamzah – ADUN Anak Bukit
  • Datuk Suraya Yaacob – ADUN Sungai Tiang
  • Dato’ Sri Mohammed Shazalli Ramly – CEO of Celcom
  • Dato' Bistamam Ramli – Director of Edaran Berhad
  • Dato' Izzadin Idris – CEO of UEM Group
  • Haji Dato' Ismee Ismail – CEO of Tabung Haji
  • Othman Omar – CEO of PKNS
  • Dato' Dr Lokman Saim
MRSM Kuantan
  • Dato’ Sri Mohammed Shazalli Ramly – CEO of Celcom
  • Dato' Mohamed Zainal Shaari – Eksekutif Director and COO of Khazanah Nasional
  • Ustaz Ariffin Deraman – ADUN Alur Limbat
  • Noralazi Sulaiman – ADUN Guai
  • Datuk Kamarudin Meranun – Co-founder of Tune Group, Deputy Group Chief Executive Director of AirAsia, Forbes 18th Malaysia's Richest
  • Mohd. Razman Osman – CEO of DRB Properties
MRSM Kota Bharu / MRSM Pengkalan Chepa
MRSM Kulim
MRSM Langkawi
MRSM Pendang
  • Ana Raffali – Singer
  • Janna Nick – Actress
MRSM Beseri
  • Datuk Azrin Mohd Noor - Entrepreneur, Author
  • Prof. Dr. Suhaidi Hassan - Academician, Internet Technology Researcher
  • Rinalia Abdul Rahim - Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)
MRSM Taiping
  • Tan Sri Ahmad Fuaad Mohd Kenali - Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, Proton Holdings Bhd
  • En Badlisyah bin Abdul Ghani - Ex CEO of CIMB Islamic Bank Berhad/ Founding President, The Chartered Institute of Islamic Finance Professional (CIIF)
  • Malique Ibrahim – Music Producer/ Songwriter/ Singer
  • Cdr. Baharuddin Md. Nor – Commander of KD Tun Abdul Razak
  • Fariq Abdul Hamid - First Officer, Flight MH 370
  • Firdaus nur Hakim - Heavyweight champion
MRSM Lenggong
MRSM Terendak
MRSM Balik Pulau
  • Radzi Zainon – ADUN Sungai Rapat
  • Budiman Zohdi
MRSM Tun Ghafar Baba/Jasin
How to apply?
Check out Applicationto MRSM (Maktab Rendah Sains Mara) Form 1 and Form 4.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Best Savings For Kids' Edu